First Time Game Tester: High Moon

I saw the trailer for the High Moon mobile app a while ago, and I was stoked. When Stephen Gibson (the games’ creator) sent me his rulebook for the card game I was pretty skeptical. The game had a ton of potential on my phone, but I didn’t think it would flow too well as a table top. I play a lot of board and card games and I have a good idea of what I like and dislike in a game.

Image

Certain I would be converted, he printed out the base set and brought it to my house to teach me. I continued to be skeptical for the first few rounds of play. But as I began to see the simple-to-implement tactics of the game, and feel that every card I played (and how I played it) could turn the tides for or against me I started to really love the game.

We ended up playing for several hours.

High Moon is great for a number of tangible reasons.
It’s easy to teach and learn. Like many great easy-to-learn games, it takes time to master all elements of the game (pun fully intended).
A round can go by very quickly, and no game goes too long.
While it has the time frame of a filler game, it plays like a great strategy.
Unlike many 2-4 player games, it is very well balanced for a 2 player match.

Having this game on your shelf is a must! It’s great to bolster your stash of games for two.

The game is available for you to print your own copy this Saturday!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

